Crafty Pants


Super Simple Spicy “Chai” Recipe
February 13, 2007, 9:54 pm
Filed under: My Projects, Other, Recipes

OK, I’m not going to go into excuses about why I’ve been gone for so long. Well, maybe I am. I am a full-time student in the throes of my Senior Project. I barely have time to sleep, let alone use the computer for recreation!

All this stress has given me a bad cold, and the symptoms are making me grumpy. I’m always chilly, and my taste-buds are on vacation. I decided I needed something hot and spicy to kick some life into me. I looked though my cupboards and came up with this super easy, college-life recipe:

Spicy ‘Chai’ Recipe:

  • 4 tsp. Loose tea (I used 3 parts oolong, 1 part vanilla roobios cause that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1/2 tsp. Pumpkin Pie spice (this contains cinnamon, nutmeg and all spice, but mostly cinnamon)
  • 1/8 tsp. Cayenne pepper (this is pretty spicy, so use less or more depending on taste)
  • 4 whole peppercorns or a dash of ground pepper (optional)
  • 1/4-1/2 cap-full Vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. Brown Sugar or Honey

Stir together. The tea will be sticky or wet. Use 1 heaping teaspoon to brew one cup, adding milk if desired. Store in an air tight container. Serves 4.

I just whipped this together 15 minutes ago, so the proportions might need to be changed. I just needed something hot and spicy and this seemed to do the trick with what I had on hand.It is not extremely potent in flavor, because I prefer my tea to be pretty mellow. If it is too weak, double the spices.

If you do make this, I’d love to hear how you liked it!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] of which got my any closer to writing my paper. I better brew some strong coffee (or yummy spicy tea) because I’ll be up all […]

Pingback by Software Patents? Splendid! « Crafty Pants




Leave a Reply

