Crafty Pants


Finished Project: Ear flap hat
February 15, 2007, 9:27 am
Filed under: Crochet, My Projects

This winter got cold. Really cold. So cold, it felt like my ears would freeze right off my head! So to prevent that, I crocheted myself this ear-flap hat, as I posted about before.

I used two strands or yarn together, one soft and one sparkly. I’m not sure if the yarns were too thin, but the hat turned out far too large and airy the first try. I then went down one hook size to a N hook, but it was still too big for me. To make it warmer, I lined it with some white sweatshirt material from an old sweatshirt. That seemed to help make it fit better too. Next time, I’d go down even smaller, to an M hook.

Sorry for the poor quality pictures, my camera is out of commission for a while.

ear flap hat

ear flap hatear flap hat

Overall, not a bad pattern. I think I need to trim my pom-poms down, they are huge!

UPDATE: I fixed the link. Hat pattern can be found here.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I totally love your earflap hat, I wish one would look that good on me. Keep the giant poms!!

Comment by Jewels

omg i want this hat how can i buy it it’s freaking kool but no seriously how do i buy it?

Comment by sarah

[…]  #1: Earflap hat […]

Pingback by Crafty Pants! – 50 Things in 2007

Woah, Dudeeeeee (H)
How cool IS That (Y)
Aha =)
Anyways
Nice Hat =]
Umm,,
Bye ? =)

Comment by Hannerrr[&&]Jadee =)

We Are Making A Hat To =)
At School, But Out Of Fleece (Y)
Aha =)
Anyways,,
Bye ? =]

Comment by Hannerrr[&&]Jadee =)

Aha =)
Nice Hat Babes =]
ii Love It =)
Lov’in It Babes.
Aha ? =)
Anywaysss,,
Bye =)

Loveage.

Yeah ?

Comment by Jadee =)

Yeah ?

Comment by Jadee =)

Sorry About That, Delete Some OF Them Comments =)

Comment by Hannerr [&&] Jade.

where can I find a pattern for this hat??!

Comment by Kat

very cute! i just made this hat too, and the P hook was waaaay too big. i used an M and it worked fine 😀 great idea lining it with sweatshirt material 🙂

Comment by Lindsay

I am making this for my boyfriend this week and I made your Slouchy hat today.

:]

love the patterns.

two of them:]

Comment by Amanda

Where do I find this pattern?? This is a CUTE hat!

Comment by Jaci




Leave a Reply

