Crafty Pants


Good to be Gnome
May 13, 2007, 5:32 pm
Filed under: My Projects, Other

 Gnomes In Yard

I’m still inspired by my roommate. She bought the cutest mini garden gnome (it came with a book, too!) and I couldn’t resist. I had one very small block of white sculpty so I made the gnome a mushroom. But then I decided he needed another gnomey friend.

The guy on the left was my first try. I found it was far to hard to add detail on a 1 inch tall guy when all you have is a pencil. So, I made the guy on the right and painted the detail. His nose is lumpy because he got punched in the face. Actually, it’s because I couldn’t get it right and painted over it too many times!

What should their names be?

#10 of 50 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

love the gnomes! i’ve never sculpted anything. what kind of paint do you use to paint them?

Comment by Jessica

I just used cheapo acrylic paints. I think they are the ‘Plaid’ brand. For the guy on the right, I mixed in a little silver paint to give it a slight shimmer. Then I coated it with some varnish of the same brand. However, my blue was a different brand, and some of it reacted with the varnish and smeared:(

Comment by CraftyPants

I’m seriously in love with this project! I’m going straight home from work today to make one for my favorite houseplant, Phil, who already has tons of toys, but I’ve been thinking for awhile that he needs a gnome.

p.s. I’m stalking you from the newbie swap board….

Comment by Pepper




Leave a Reply

