Crafty Pants


Back @Home!
August 16, 2007, 7:35 am
Filed under: Personal

Le Chateau

Well, I’m back! I’ve actually been back for almost two weeks but life has been so busy, I haven’t had much time for crafting or posting. I think once I’m settled in my apartment and a job, I’ll be creating once again. The last month in Pau was the best month of my life. However, it seems like every month this past year has been the best month of my life!

I have been spending countless hours these past days going though ALL my belongings, and trying to reduce it down to just two suitcases and a few boxes that will be shipped down at a later date. It was really quite freeing; shedding all that unnecessary junk made me feel like I was peeling off layers ad layers of bulky clothes. With each bag sent to Goodwill I felt a little lighter and less constricted. That is, until I got to my art supplies (and books).

I see my supplies as pure potential, and to see them go was like seeing a million possible projects disappear. It was sad to see them stuffed to unceremoniously into a garbage bag, but I knew I had no where to keep them, and they would make some other creative person insanely happy. I’ve literally donated two large pickup trucks full of items (my parents stored a lot of items for me over the years), but those five bags of art supplies were the hardest to hand over.

My books were almost as hard to give away, except that I actually made about $50 selling them to half price books, so that softened the blow a bit.  I have quite an attatchment to my books, and so I still have a large blue Rubbermaid bin full of books that I couldn’t bear to part with. I’m not sure what I am going to do with them, or how I will get them down to San Francisco, but I’m pretty sure my father (another avid book lover) will gladly store/read them for me in the mean time.

Only a few more days and I will be in a new apartment, city and state!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

