Crafty Pants


Stumpy the Swab Stasher
February 12, 2008, 9:25 pm
Filed under: Amigurumi, Crochet, Free Patterns, Miscellaneous, My Projects | Tags: , , ,

Remember Owly? Well, he now has a buddy that is adept at hiding cottony stuff too!

Stumpy, Owly's Buddy

Along with my cotton puffs, I use cotton swabs quite often for makeup application. So of course, I had to make myself something to hold those, too. Who wants an icky cardboard/plastic box on your counter?

Say AHHHHHH!

I made stumpy using Lionbrand Lionsuede, which has a great texture and gives a very sturdy result. The pattern is quite easy, so here it is, incase you’d like a stump to hide your cottony treasures in:

Stumpy the Swab Stasher

Yarn: Bulky (Lionbrand Lionsuede)
Hook size: G

Special stitch: Bpdc, Fpdc

Main Stump:

1: With light color: ch 4. In 1st chain (4th from hook) dc 15. Join with sl st. (this makes a circle).

2: With main color: Bpdc around each post of each dc [15]. Join with sl st.

3: Fpdc around each post of each dc [15]. Join with sl st.

4: repeat row 3 until the stump is the height you like. Mine was 7-8 rows. Finish.

Little Branch:

1: With light color: ch 2. In 2nd ch from hook, sc 5.

2: With main color: sc in each st around until branch is the length you desire. Sew branch to stump

And that’s it! I’ll try and get the owl pattern up soon, but I want to experiment some more, possibly with felting, or using lion suede…

Stumpy the Swab Stasher

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your little owly and stumpy. Such a cute and crafty way to store your bathroom needs!

Comment by Rachel

I am cracking up! Love the ‘stump’…….know where is that owl pattern????????? What a fun and funky way to hide your necessities in plain sight!

Comment by val

What a clever little set! I love them! Thanks for sharing, too bad I don’t crochet much.

Comment by Silver Ilix

I was wondering when you would be putting up the owly pattern. I would love to have one in my bathroom. I’m going to pick up the yarn for a stumpy in the next couple of days. So cute! Great job!

Comment by Megan




Leave a Reply

