Crafty Pants


Ripple, ripple, ripple, and so on
January 15, 2009, 12:28 pm
Filed under: Crochet, My Projects

Well, my ripple blanket is coming along nicely! I know I’m pretty late to the game, but even if I started during the “ripple craze,” I still wouldn’t be finished by now:P I’m using the Soft Waves pattern by Jan Eaton, and it is definitely my favorite ripple pattern I’ve seen yet.

So far, my ripple is about 25% finished. I want it to be around 6 feet long, so I can cover my legs and feet, unlike some throws I have.

Ripple Blanket Progress

Ali just HAD to get in on the photo shoot…  Ripple Blanket ProgressRipple Blanket Progress

The colors are inspired from a vintage coaster set that my mom gave me when I moved into my first apartment (this one). When buying the yarn, I brought the coasters to the yarn store, and spent about 2 hours trying to find the perfect match 😛  I’m using mostly Vanna’s Choice, but also Simply Soft. This blanket is so fun to make!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the colours! It looks fantastic

Comment by Sarah

I’ve been wanting to try a ripple blanket for quite some time now, but I haven’t been sure how much yarn to buy. Would you mind sharing the quantities you have? The size of your throw sounds like the size I’d be looking for too. I don’t know how much yarn I’d need to buy in each colour and would love some advice!

Comment by nadine

Beautiful! The colors are just great. Next time you do an update, I’d love to see the coaster with it for comparison. And what a sweet kitty. How come they HAVE to be in pictures?!

Comment by lauria

Your ripple blanket is beautiful — happy and cheery!

Comment by Rima Aranha

Love your blanket, but oh your Ali is bueatiful. Lost my darling Sugar last year and she looked enough like Ali to be cousins. Hope you are getting warm now. I am in Texas and it is 90 ! Have a good one and give Ali a Hug for me. Nita, “The Pen Lady”

Comment by nita




Leave a Reply

